November 11-13, 2010




Swag: A Crime and Mystery Fiction Short Story Contest
for Teenagers

1st place $250
2nd place $100
3rd place $50

List of winners:

1. LaTrevia Myles - Fatal Obsession

2. Audrey Wierenga - The Left-Handed Letter: A Mystery Concerning Blood, Ink, Six Suspects, and a Very Unfortunate Gentleman

3. Charlotte Mazurek - A Wintery Exchange

Top Ten Teen Short Stories in no particular order:
Lauren Dumas, "Jealousy at the Joe," Academy of Sacred Heart, Bloomfield Hills, MI
Myshel Bisard, "Escape," Grand Ledge High School, Grand Ledge, MI
LaTrevia Myles, "Fatal Obsession," Pontiac High School, Pontiac, MI
Erin Shanahan, "The Doctor's Diagnosis," Sparta High School, Sparta, MI
Emily Rondello, "The Best of the Worst, Groves High School," Beverly Hills, MI
Audrey Wierenga, "The Left-Handed Letter: A Mystery Concerning Blood, Ink, Six Suspects, and a Very Unfortunate Gentleman," South Christian High School, Grand Rapids, MI
Charlotte Mazurek, "A Wintery Exchange," Sparta High School, Sparta, MI
Sarah Wagner, "Pop! Goes the Weasel," Marian High School, Bloomfield Hills, MI
Anne Lemberg, "Wheels," Cranbrook/Kingswood, Bloomfield Hills, MI
Jaya Narain, "That Which We Seek," Houghton High School, Houghton, MI

We would like to acknowledge the great work of all of our entrants:

Lexi Achterhof
Miranda Anthony
Teline Assenso
Lorra Auten
Edgar E. Ayala
Sebastian Bermudez
Rashawn Black
Rebecca Brosig
Misael Cartagena
Malikah Connor
Lexis Corke
Tonysha Darden
Francis Davis
Joshua Davis
Jazmyn Ewing
Virginia Frack
Colette Franklin
Jazmine Gilmore
Sara Gonzalez
Rachel Groters
Juan Carlos Gutierrez
Javon Hall
Ta’Shiqua Hardy
Jeremy Herbert
Giovanni Hernandez
Corrie Hobbs
Daquarius Hollis
Justyce Hollis
Ar’Tejah Howard
Cyrria Humphrey
Jade Humphrey
Briana Hyde
Kenneth Jackson III
Deavaray L. Jackson
Trisha Jackson
Alicia Jernagin
Laneesa Jones
Le’Shay Jones
Asia King
Manuel Lagos Jr.
Cornelia Lee
Azure Lipson-Bey
Araceli Lopez
Tressa C. Lopez
Eddie Lor
Susan Lor
Kiara Louris
Alexus Marquez
Maria Medina
Kristen Myers
Quentin Parker
Shane Pfeiffer
Bre’Anna Pruitt
Chelsea M. Reyes
Eliza Roe
Seth Rosen
Gabriela Sanchez
Courtland Sargent
Roger Sherman II
Mar Rion Simms
Benjamin Slade
Paris Sturgis
Branden Sumerix
Matt Summers
Deanthony Tate
Alante Taylor
Lisa Thao
Alexis Wright
Ariana Wright
Aaron Yan
Chimeng Yang
Nancy Yang


- Writer must be ages 13-18 and currently enrolled in school.
- The submission must be the writer’s own original, unpublished work.
- Submit entry as a Word attachment using the Withoutabox link below.
- Submission must be in a mystery or crime genre and mention a metro Detroit area landmark, building, or locale.
- Format: Double-spaced, 12 pt. font, Times New Roman. Include your name, email, phone, school name and school’s address at the top of the submission.
- Only one submission per person. Submissions may be no longer than 2,000 words.

Friday, October 1 – Submission deadline.
Sunday, October 31 – The winners will be announced here.

1. Does the piece meet the mystery / crime genre?
2. Does it mention a significant metro Detroit area landmark, building, or locale?
3. Does it go beyond the story length of 2,000 words?
4. Does it have its own style?
5. Does the piece have few grammar and spelling mistakes?
6. Does the piece develop a compelling story and interesting characters?
7. Does the piece use only the appropriate amount of mature subject matter?



Click here to read
Elmore Leonard's
10 Rules of Writing.


Submissions handled by:















The Community House
380 South Bates Street - Birmingham, MI 48009 - P (248) 554-6586 - F (248) 644-2476
The Community House is a non-profit organization